Don’t grow up , It’s a trap

Hello everyone , today I’m going to write about something that most of us have been lied about our whole childhood , Yes I’m talking about growing up. Now I’m in my twenties , 23 to be exact and when I look back at my childhood all I remember wishing for is to be a grown up not just me infact everyone that has gone past the age of 20 knows that it was nothing more than a trap and all lies in fact growing up isn’t fun at all like we all thought it would be , didn’t we? I remember when I was 10 years old sitting in my living room watching tom and jerry eating lucky charms thinking how growing up would be awesome , no bed times , all the amusement parks I could visit and no matter if I wanted to be a fire fighter or an astronaut those careers will be easily available but that’s not true at all , I wasn’t fortunate enough to find out the truth until it was too late and I had wasted some of the most fun years of my life doing nothing and hoping that the time would pass by and I could be a grown up but if any of the young generation of today can read this post of mine I would like to tell them that this isn’t how it works and by the time we hit twenty people are throwing up words like corn syrup and diabetes and suddenly you find out you can not eat a whole box of cocoa puffs in one sitting. You wanted to be a firefighter but now you know that your city is on cutbacks and that there is a hiring freeze , so you’re trudging away at your uncle’s friend accounting office . There’s another thing that had me stressing out most of my school life and are forced to believe it from the time we gained our senses that we have to work hard and concentrate just on our studies and that after we are done with them and become a successful person in life we will have plenty of time to enjoy our lives , go out , have fun etc and I’m not saying that studying or working hard is wrong but just that being so concerned about competing others and being perfect is and we are in this world to live our own lives and should not worry or concern about what others say or think about us . The reason I raised this point is that I myself used to be a very competitive student with the ego of being on top always but in the last year of school life I witnessed something so horrible that brought me to my senses and showed me how being on top doesn’t make you any better than others who passed with average or good grades and that it wasn’t worth it the incident I am talking about was of a class fellow who was under so much pressure from home and about being number one in class that when he found out that he got an overall B grade instead of an A and just because of one percent he was graded the second best grade but you know what happened next ? He was so scared of facing his parents and the competition in school that he committed suicide can you believe that he was scared to show the world an 89 percent? I mean isn’t that just horrible. All parents should encourage their children no matter how good they are and what grade they pass on because God has gifted us with different capabilities and it’s just plain stupid to compare yourself with others . Well that tragic incident was the reason that changed my life because right after it happened I was old enough to think that it really doesn’t matter if we get an A B or C at the end they are just a piece of paper lying in your drawer and that no matter what percentage you pass with but that you pass . I remember starting college three years ago and even today I thank God for realising this way before most other people do which is after they have wasted the best years of their life stressing on competing others which is what we have been told and I mentioned it earlier too that we will have plenty of time for fun afterwards but have you ever thought that when you are done with all studies and are post graduate after that a couple more years to get established in the field of choice well I’m pretty sure the normal age everyone gets to that position is when they are at least 25 or maybe even more and I feel sad for the ones craving perfection till then and seeing that the average ones who had fun alongside their study and enjoyed the best years of life including their teenage and early twenties are on the same table as they are and that in professional life all those grades mean nothing and all those wanna be perfect ones are left with a huge regret knowing how stupid they were to compete others. The point here is that do work hard but only as much as you need to because at the end living well is the most important thing and competing others and being perfect won’t really get you anywhere in life so make smart choices and live a healthy and a blessed life after all we only live once.

Author: Ahmed Shah

Hello everyone , Im 23 and a recent college graduate and Ceo of Services Pvt LTD which is one of the very few known and successful custom clearance agencies of my country in other words yes Im a hard working person dedicated in achieving the most out of my life or at least what I deserve after all YOLO.

Leave a comment